Smith Main Event Racing Series Winner
By Shady Bowl P.R.


DeGraff OH: (8/9): The Main Event Racing Series made its annual stop at Shady Bowl Speedway and put on a thrilling show in front of a packed house. The traveling speedsters marked the only appearance of the super late models in the 08 season A field of 21 cars took the green flag to start the Carter Lumber 75. Series regular Gary Whipkey took the early lead in the Carter Lumber backed super and led the first 19 laps before the yellow came out when Rich Rohrer collected the frontchute wall when something appeared to break on his car. When racing resumed it was short lived however as rain brought the race to a halt on lap 20.

The race was held up for about an hour as officials and compact drivers dried the track. The rain delay was bad news for Whipkey as his car would not start when the command to fire up was given. With Whipkey in the pits the lead fell to Paul Pelletier as the green came out. The Wolverine state driver stayed out front and survived minor spins and crashes involving Chad Poole, John Stroble and Brad Coons. The final yellow waved on lap 54 when Burgess White slowed on the frontchute. Once again out front was an unlucky spot to be in as Pelletier headed to the pit area. The lead was then taken over by Quincy OH driver Josh Smith in the Fast Racing Engines entry. Smith, a two time Modified champion at the Bowl, then showed the invaders a little lesson in "home cookin" as he dominated the final laps to post his first ever MERS and super late model main.
            It made for a very popular win both on and off the track, as Smith is a crowd favorite. Harold Fair Jr., Don Mahaffey, Don Harvey Jr. and Bud Perry rounded out the top five. The Bowl was well represented with regulars Smith, Mahaffey and Perry taking three of the top five spots.

Main Event Racing Series
            Top Qualifier - Harold Fair, Jr.
            Lap Leaders - Gary Whipkey 1-19, Paul Pelletier 20-54, Josh Smith 55-75
            Carter Lumber 75 - Josh Smith, Harold Fair Jr., Don Mahaffey, Don Harvey Jr., Bud Perry, Jimmy Carter, Chris Benson, Doug Sommers, Paul Pelletier, Joel McKnight, Harold Fair Sr., Burgess White, Johnny Jenkins, Brad Koons, John Stroble, Chad Poole, Gary Whipkey, Shawn Stansell, John Flynn, Rich Rohrer, Rodney Roush